Angliss Discovery Culinary Tournament Asia 2017

With a tournament theme of ‘Five-Dimensional Creative Cooking’, the thrilling Culinary Tournament 2017 took place earlier on the day of Angliss Discovery 2017 at the InterContinental Ballroom.

With its culinary competitions Angliss aims to provide a platform for professional chefs from various regions to demonstrate their creativity and skills as well as sharing experiences.

Eight contestants from Hong Kong, Macau, Singapore, Malaysia, Beijing, Shanghai, Shenzhen and Guangzhou were invited to enter the competition this year. They had to each prepare one appetiser and one main course in line with the theme of the event, within two hours, choosing from supplied ingredients that included Clearwater live lobster, La Petit Gourmet quail, Hokkaido scallops, Urgasa baby chicken, Pure South lamb hind shanks and Savory Choice shoulder blade collar, and also a list of complementary ingredients.

Overall champion and also winner with best appetiser and main dish, and a combined prize of US$5,000, was Steve Yuen of Hong Kong. He produced a wonderful pan-seared lobster claw and sausage with lobster jus, langoustine roll and pickles, followed by slow-cooked shoulder blade collar with pork sauce, pineapple and apple chutney, baked onion and ginger pumpkin puree, that wowed the judges.

Andy Choy Kyai Tuck from Beijing was first runner-up with US$2,000 for his starter of Hokkaido scallops carpaccio, French langoustine, oyster cream, truffle and hazelnut vinaigrette, and main course of Canadian pork shoulder blade crepinette, French langoustine, truffle potato puree and bonne jus.

Finally Steve Noor Azlal Ariffin from Malaysia was second runner-up, winning US$1,500 for his slow-cooked lobster with asparagus and Cointreau glaze, followed by Pure South lamb hind shanks with salted egg and truffle.

All chefs who took part – not only the ultimate winners – produced some simply stunning culinary creations on the day and were a credit to themselves and their countries.

2017年安得利美饌廚藝大賽

於Angliss Discovery 2017開幕當日較早時間,2017年安得利美饌廚藝大賽假座香港洲際酒店宴會廳舉行,大賽主題是「五維創意烹飪」。

安得利致力透過舉辦廚藝比賽,為不同地區的專業廚師構建平台,讓其展示創意和技巧,並分享烹飪經驗。

來自香港、澳門、新加坡、馬來西亞、北京、上海、深圳及廣州的八位參賽者獲邀參加今年的比賽。 他們必須在兩小時內,挑選大賽提供的食材,根據活動主題準備一道頭盤和一道主菜。食材包括清水牌龍蝦、La Petit Gourmet鵪鶉、北海道帶子、Urgasa春雞、Pure South帶骨羊腱和Savory Choice肩胛骨頸肉,當然還有一系列可供搭配的食材。

來自香港的Steve Yuen勇奪總冠軍寶座,並一舉斬獲最佳頭盤和主菜的殊榮,共獲得5,000美元的獎金。他所炮製的頭盤是烤龍蝦鉗及香腸配龍蝦汁、海螯蝦捲和酸菜,主菜則是慢煮肩胛骨頸肉配豬肉汁、菠蘿蘋果甜酸醬以及烤洋蔥薑南瓜泥。這幾道菜式令一眾評判讚歎不已。

來自北京的Andy Choy Kyai Tuck得到亞軍,獎金2,000美元,其頭盤是北海道帶子刺身切片、法式海螯蝦刺身、鮮蠔忌廉、松露榛子香醋,而主菜則是加拿大豬肩胛肉扁平小灌腸、法式海螯蝦、松露馬鈴薯泥配上等醬汁。

而來自馬來西亞的Steve Noor Azlal Ariffin獲得季軍,獎金為1,500美元,他的頭盤是慢煮龍蝦配蘆筍和君度酒醬汁,主菜則是Pure South帶骨羊腱配鹽焗蛋及松露。

所有得獎者以至一眾廚師於比賽當天都盡展創意,炮製出一道又一道妙不可言的菜式,不單是自身超卓技能的最佳體現,亦為自己所屬國家或地區增光不少。