A Sweet Finish to a Historic Evening

While the farewell party held recently at legendary The Excelsior, Hong Kong before it closed was tinged with melancholy, Angliss Hong Kong managed to raise spirits with some stunning chocolate creations

After 47 years The Excelsior, Hong Kong recently closed its doors to make way for a 26-floor prestige office block. However, the grand old lady, scene of countless nights of glitz and glamour, wasn’t going to go without one last soiree, in the form of an ‘Alice in Wonderland’ themed farewell party.

With a long history of working together, Angliss Hong Kong was keen to show its support for The Excelsior, and how the relationship has been built on far more than just business. It was invited to make a contribution to the party, and Kevin Chiu, Technical Advisor- Confectionery with Angliss Hong Kong, didn’t disappoint.

Kevin created three spectacular art pieces on the closing event’s theme, crafted with hundreds of kilos of the finest chocolate from Belcolade of Puratos. Planned over three months, with the actual work taking three weeks, the labour of love was part engineering, part art and part confectionery.

Chocolate had to be adapted into multiple forms for various purposes, with some moulds having to be created. Blocks of chocolate were hand-carved and hand-moulded before they were all individually painted before final assembly. The chocolate wall required particularly high levels of logistical planning due to its sheer size and the Chef’s refusal to use any artificial elements to hold the chocolate pieces together while suspended from the wall itself.

Following the Alice in Wonderland theme, the three pieces included a caterpillar on a giant mushroom for the dessert buffet table, which at 1.2 metres tall, used 100kg of chocolate. The second piece was the impressive “Chocolate Wall Gallery”, five metres long and 2.3 metres high, using 280kg of chocolate, and the largest chocolate showpiece ever made at The Excelsior. It included picture frames featuring several themes celebrating The Excelsior, with numbers representing its opening date and years of service.

“Rabbit on the Throne Cake” was the final piece, which at 1.4 metres high and over half a metres in diameter, weighing more than 130kg, was the largest cake ever made at The Excelsior. The cake pictured the White Rabbit having stolen the crown and sceptre from the Queen of Hearts, and was paraded with much fanfare throughout the Café on The First, with diners following its path like a parade all the way to the Throne Room.

But Kevin had even more sweet surprises for guests. When the cake was opened, treasures came spilling out, including silver candy balls, golden hazelnut chocolate balls and cookies bearing the logos of The Excelsior, Hong Kong and Angliss Hong Kong, to represent the great relationship shared between the two companies.

Everybody queued up for a slice of the magic and a memory to live on forever.

為歷史性一晚添上甜蜜回憶

最近怡東酒店這香港傳奇建築物所舉行的告別派對可謂全城矚目安得利香港有幸參與其中,在帶點離愁別緒的氣氛下,呈獻令每位賓客都為之驚嘆的朱古力創作,為歷史性一加添甜蜜回憶

在完成其 47年的歷史使命後,屹立在銅鑼灣海傍的香港怡東酒店將會搖身一變成為一座 26 層高的全新商廈。然而,這幢曾見證無數璀璨晚上的標誌性建築物又怎能無聲地告別呢?正因如此,酒店特別舉行了一個以『愛麗絲夢遊仙境』為主題的告別派對,讓賓客好好回味值得紀念的一晚。

作為長期合作夥伴,安得利香港很高興能以行動表示對怡東酒店的支持。事實上,這珍貴友誼早已超越了商業拍檔的關係。既然我們有幸被邀請為這難忘的派對出一點力,作為安得利香港Technical Advisor- Confectionery 的 Kevin Chiu 當然不負眾望,以令人難忘的朱古力創作為派對劃上完美句號!

在這場閉幕活動中,Kevin以數百公斤由Puratos 生產的 Belcolade 優質朱古力精心創作了三件以告別派對為題的大型藝術作品。為了讓來賓眼前一亮,Kevin 不但用了超過三個月的時間構思,並花了足足三星期去炮製。因此,這三件絕對是融合了心思、色香味和技巧的藝術傑作。

為了配合主題,所預備的朱古力必須以一些特別的模具被塑造成各種形狀。同時,一塊塊的朱古力需以人手雕刻和倒模,然後再逐一上色,才能製成別有特色的藝術品。在製作過程中,朱古力牆的運送需要特別安排。因為它的體積龐大,而且甜品師拒絕使用任何人造元素將朱古力塊固定在一起,因此要將它們懸掛在這朱古力牆上絕對需要高超技巧。

三件朱古力展品以愛麗絲夢遊仙境為主題,當中包括一條爬在巨型蘑菇上的毛蟲。高1.2米的藝術品用了100公斤的朱古力製成,放在甜點自助枱上,極為可愛。 第二件是令人印象深刻、長5米及高2.3米的『朱古力牆畫廊』,使用了280公斤朱古力製成,是怡東酒店有史以來最大型的朱古力展品。在壯觀的『畫廊』上展示幾個主題的相框,用以慶祝怡東酒店這些年的成就,當中更有數字代表其開放日期和服務年期。

『皇座上的兔子』是最後一件藝術品。這個高1.4米、直徑超過半米、重達130多公斤的蛋糕是怡東酒店有史以來最大的蛋糕。造型參照了白兔偷走了女王的皇冠和權杖。神氣的白兔向Café on The First餐廳昂首闊步地邁步,賓客們跟隨著牠,一直走到皇座(Throne Room)。

除此以外,Kevin 更為客人帶來了更多甜蜜的驚喜。當蛋糕被打開時,寶藏會即時溢出,除了有銀色糖果球、金榛子朱古力球外,亦有印上香港怡東酒店和安得利香港標誌的餅乾,代表了兩個合作夥伴之間的良好關係。

每位來賓都有秩序地排隊,等待分到一片神奇的魔法蛋糕和永遠留存在腦海的甜蜜回憶。